What’s in a Name?

Published October 30, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

I haven’t written lately half-on-purpose. I have big (to me) news, and part of me was afraid of jinxing it by telling anyone before it was ready to go. But now I have no choice. I’m taking too much time. I’ve pretty much stopped talking to my friends in an effort to keep this a secret, when really, I should be doing the exact opposite. I can be a bad friend at times, I know. If you feel like I’ve been neglecting you lately (J, D, S, T, N…) this is why.

So the secret is this: I’m in the process of opening up a store. I took all the money I made from BZXL and put it into craft supplies. Right now I have a somewhat large-ish line of silk and fleece crocheted baby blankets. I’m also starting out on a venture to re-purpose old window frames. I want to eventually make a ton of different kinds of crafts to sell. I’m going to learn how to use my Singer (I can’t even thread the thing without knotting up the line) and I might take up knitting too. I’m also going to get back into painting, although I’m doubtful anyone will be interested in those. Heh. Anyway, I’m going to open an Etsy store asap in attempts to sell my crafts. I just need to think of a store name. That’s the ONE thing holding me back from going live and telling everyone. I need to think of something that represents what I do, why I do it, etc. Sounds catchy, and can be made into a marketable logo for business cards etc. I really liked “Crafty Rascal” but that could have a negative connotation. Then I though of “Stitchcraft Designs” with a witch hat and crochet hook jolly roger logo, but there’s already a business by that name in Athens. So I’m at a loss.

The end goal isn’t an Etsy store though. It’s really just the first step. When I make enough money I would like to rent out a booth at the antique mall over by my house, and sell there. When I make enough from THAT, I want to eventually buy a piece of property to use as an event center for local charities. You see, all of this is for charity. 10% of my monthly profits will go to one on a list of charities. I’ll also be having product give-aways where I’ll be donating some of my blankets and other useful crafts to shelters etc.

But I can’t go live without a name and a logo. And I was supposed to be live a month ago. I need some help. Does anyone have any name suggestions? Feel free to leave them in the comments. Once I have something good and original then I can make the logo, upload my product line, and be doing business within a day. Which would be lovely as I REALLY need to start making something from this. *sigh* I don’t want to fail at this idea.

2 comments on “What’s in a Name?

  • As far as I know you, you would not fail at this idea. And well, I thought that I had sent a comment before, but apparently I didn’t so, here are my 2 cents. Wicked Crafts.

  • Leave a Reply

