Day 6: Introducing The Wheel

Published September 21, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Well, I just got home from work about half an hour ago. (Forgot to clock out AGAIN! Dammit!) First thing I did after kicking off my shoes and dropping all my stuff on the couch was to scarf a sub sammich as fast as I could. Then I bolted upstairs to check on the babies. Their Wodent Wheel came in today (black with a red track, to match the rest of their furniture) and my partner and I had installed it while the girls were still asleep. So I wanted to see what they thought of it. They LOVE it! Ayla’s just a-running and a a-running in the damn thing. (Doesn’t squeak like I thought it would, either.) Lucca tried to get in, but Ayla was going too fast, and it wasn’t gonna happen. She’s hogging all the fun.

However, Lucca’s started doing something interesting. Every single time I put my hand against the mesh, she jumps to it. Ayla does too, but only about 1/3 of the time. I stood there for about ten minutes, just moving my hand to different parts of the mini-mansion, and Lucca kept following me. It was so awesome.

I really think that while we’re both going to be as bonded as we can be with these little ones, that Lucca will be my spouse’s baby, and Ayla will be mine. I have more patience with Ayla, and can relate to her shyness. As for Lucca, she immediately wants to be all over my partner the second he opens the mansion door. I mean, she’ll jump to me too, but it’s clear that it’s him she wants.

I also scheduled a vet visit for the girls today. GiderCENTRAL only had one exotics vet listed in their database in my city. But when I looked up that clinic, I found one terrible review after the other. So I decided to call the clinic where we take Laci and Griffin and see if any of the vets there had experience with sugars, or would like to learn. Fortunately, they DO have an exotics vet, although she deals mainly in birds. I was told she has experience with gliders though, so I booked an appointment for Tuesday at 1PM. While both Ayla and Lucca seem to be doing exceptionally well with the lights dimmed/off, I would just feel better knowing they had been checked out.

In other news, I’m starting to compile a little “How To Guide” on caring for Ayla and Lucca (specifically). That way, should they ever need to see a different vet (or if we leave them with my in-laws/a sitter), they’ll know exactly how to tell them apart, the differences in their temperament, what to feed them, indications of illness, etc. Plus, I think it’d be fun to compile everything I’ve learned about them so far. šŸ™‚

Well…I need to clean Opal’s tank, and then I’m going to nap for an hour before my partner comes home from work. After that, it’s dinner time, then playtime, then bed…sweet, wonderful bed…

Leave a Reply

