Pills (Or Why I Love Canada)

Published May 29, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Well I saw my doctor today and explained to her how I was feeling. I think she was a little skeptical, but I explained that I’ve been in constant pain and a state of severe fatigue since I was 12 and she seemed to listen. She gave me a prescription for Cymbalta, and I even got my first 30 pills for free. She also wants me to continue the Abilify (which I’m getting for $2 this month…yay coupons) and stop taking the Risperdol. All in all it sounds pretty good, right? Er…not really.

You see, I may have paid $2 for a months worth of medicine THIS month. But NEXT month, the abilify would cost me $1200 and the Cymbalta $202. Which isn’t going to happen. But that’s why I love Canada. Through Northwest Pharmacy I can order the generic versions of both. A three month supply will end up costing me right around $200 for everything combined. Much much much better.

First thing I did when I got home was pop one of the Cymbalta. It’s a toss-up as to whether or not it’ll help. I was on Zoloft for awhile when I first started taking medication and it made me so jittery and restless that I’ve avoided SSRI’s ever since. I think she said that Cymbalta is an SSNRI though…? I’m not sure if that’s right. I forget. But we’ll see how it works out over the next few days.

I’m really hoping that this is going to help. While I’m not expecting any kind of magic bean by any means, I’m tired of feeling tired. So right now it all comes down to this.

Image

5 comments on “Pills (Or Why I Love Canada)

  • Are you taking the Cymbalta for anxiety or pain? it is often used to replace zooloft if the dosage needs to be high. Yes it is an selective serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor .. or SSNRI.

    hope it works for you 🙂

    Amber

  • I haven’t been officially diagnosed with fibromyalgia, but my doctor agreed that we should test this medicine and see if it helped with the fatigue and the pain. All I can say is that I hurt pretty much from the neck down and when I get overly stressed/tired I get really tender.

  • Leave a Reply

