Friends and Obsessions

Published May 14, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

I’m going through another phase right now where I pretty much want to ignore the internet. Which is why I haven’t really posted anything lately, I guess. That and I’ve had company. That and I don’t know what to talk about. So get ready for a rambling update from me that covers everything and nothing all at the same time.

First I had my friend from Arkansas come stay with me for a few days. We celebrated my partner’s 30th birthday by inviting some other friends over and floating a keg. Everyone was good and drunk. It was a nice time, and there was an abundance of drunken Rock Band, which seems to be the guys’ favorite pastime and one I will occasionally partake in myself. I even got to watch my BFF sing a song or two, which was awesome.

After my out of town friend left, I read a book. Normally I wouldn’t bother saying anything about me reading a book. I read books all the time. But this book was absolutely amazing, and I’m still obsessing over it. It’s called The Night Circus, and it’s by Erin Morgenstern. It was so immersive that I was kinda depressed after the story ended. However, I treated that with a good dose of music, and I’ve been obsessively compiling a mixy of songs that make me think of the book. Here’s a sample of one of the songs. It’s called First Waltz by Denys Rybkin, and you can find the full song on amazon, if you wanna hear the whole thing. It’s awesome. (Sorry the video isn’t in English. I just picked it because it’s the longest clip of the song I can find on youtube. The whole song is like two and a half minutes.)

Anyway, so there’s all that.

Then I had another friend come visit me from Colombia. That was…well, it was alright at first. But the visit ended kind of abruptly when my partner decided he didn’t want my friend to come to our house anymore. There’s a long and unpleasant back story that I won’t get into that explains why, but suffice it to say I don’t know if I’ll ever be seeing that friend again. On the one hand it makes me a little upset with my spouse. But on the other hand, I know that I have to stand behind him and support his decisions, especially if he tells me he’s uncomfortable with something.

I don’t feel like I’m really explaining this right. See, the problem is that I don’t want to share too much personal information regarding other people. This is my blog, and while I have no issues talking about things regarding me, no one has given me permission to talk about them. So I never know what is ok to say and what isn’t.

Anyway…I think that’s about it for now. I’m going to start writing more soon, I promise. And I’ll be posting my entire “Night Mixy” during next month’s “That’s My Jam”, seeing as it looks like it’s going to take me an entire month to find all the right tracks and quotes that go along with them.

Leave a Reply

