Well, We’re Outta Cake!

Published April 24, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

So dinner was actually a success. I decided last minute to cook the veal more like it was bacon (in a skillet) cause it was so thin. Put a little seasoning on there, and it turned out just fine. And of course, I baked the broccoli in some coconut oil and balsamic vinegar, which I’ve done loads of times before, so that turned out well also. And sauteed some spinach in minced garlic. All in all a fine paleo meal. The cuppy cake “frosting” turned out more like chocolate lava, so I injected some into the cupcakes, and then poured some more over the top, making them chocolate lava cakes. My partner at least seemed to love them. So…yeah. I didn’t ruin anything. I improvised and it still turned out fine.

Couple other things I wanted to go over real quick. I had my first therapy session with my new therapist today. She’s so awesome. While I was pretty nervous/anxious about the whole thing, it turned out to be unlike every other therapist session I’ve had. For one thing, she actually told me a little about herself, which was pretty cool. All the therapists I’ve had in the past have been very strict about not saying hello if they see me in public (she said she would) and not sharing personal information. Maintaining that strictly business relationship. She doesn’t seem to be like that, which makes it easier to talk about me because I feel like I at least sort of know the person I’m talking to. We also went for a walk. I guess she gauged that my discomfort was partially caused by the new location, so we went outside, I had a cigarette, and we just walked around through the trees for a little bit. It was great. I think what she’s trying to do is create a physical comfort zone for me out of her office and the surrounding area so that my anxiety will go down enough for us to tackle some of my past traumas. It’s nice to feel like the person I’m working with is actually proactive in helping me. Not just sitting there nodding their head and trying not to doze off, ya know? Anyway, I really like her and I think we’ll be able to work well together in the future.

The other thing I wanted to talk about was bowling. Yes…bowling. I’ve picked it up. A couple weekends ago, my partner said he wanted to do something more active than just sitting around watching movies and smoking hookah, and by some happy chance, we found ourselves walking into the local bowling alley. Two weeks later and I have my own (purple) bowling shoes, a (purple) bowling bag, a (purple) wrist brace (cause I spin to the left and need to learn to keep my wrist straight), and I’m waiting for my super awesome bowling ball to arrive. Check it out.

Image

I figure…cosmic bowling…cosmic bowling ball. Isn’t it prettyful? I’m still pretty bad at the game in general, but I’m slowly learning how to control my spin (which I need to practice more. With the brace on I bowl pretty straight, resulting in a lot of splits) and aim and everything. I’m seeing a bit of improvement. I’ve almost doubled my initial game average in just two weeks. Hopefully my scores continue to get higher and I can actually get good at this. I really enjoy it, and more than once I’ve bowled until my wrist was sore. It also seems to be one of those things that most of my friends enjoy as well, so it’s prompting me to be a little more social and do something other than just sit around at my house. So…yay!

Now I have to go clean another floor of the house. My goal is to do one floor a day, minus the weekends. And with all sorts of company arriving Saturday (if you know me IRL and wanna come, you’re invited of course. We’re going to float a keg for my partner’s birthday celebration.) the house needs to be spotless. Oh! I also need to come up with a bunch of paleo “horse doovers” for snacks and stuff. Fun times.

Leave a Reply

