Countdown to Take Off

Published April 17, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Where have I been? Oh, you know…around.

Actually, I almost let something terrible happen. I almost let the remarks of other people stop me from writing at all. Two people have given me some constructive criticism over the last two weeks, and while their remarks (I believe) were truly well-intended, it almost shut down this blog. Not because what they said was all that terrible, but because it forced me to make a decision I hadn’t yet considered. I had to ask myself what is more important: getting out my thoughts and feelings in a positive and productive way, or generating a larger group of readers. While I would simply love to have my cake and eat it too, I fear that my personal style of writing isn’t one which easily grabs the attention of people who don’t already know me.

“But Carmen, why can’t you just alter your writing style without altering the content?” That’s the question I’ve been asking myself. And that was basically the comment that I got from other people. I feel at this juncture that would be making something that is supposed to be fun into something that’s now a lot of work. Call me lazy if you want, but I just don’t want to risk ruining the one outlet I have.

Maybe if I had some time to slowly adapt to a new writing style, or I had some examples that I could emulate at first, then it wouldn’t seem like such a big change. If you would like to offer your comments or assistance, I would really appreciate it. Feel free to use the comment button below.

I know that once again I’ve written a jumbled and flawed entry full of holes perfect for inserting queries and speculation. The only thing I can say is that I’m just writing what I think. That’s all I know to do for now.

2 comments on “Countdown to Take Off

  • The people that know you IRL may not be the best to give you advice, since they had come here mostly because, well, they know you and know a little about who you are.

    I think that the ideal for feedback may be given by the ones that reached your blog just by chance, they can only judge you for what is in the blog and give you some ideas of what they may like in the future and what should be avoided.

    Me, being of the first group, I like your blogs, but as I told you, I am not a good judge of character in this matter.

    Sorry for not being more helpful.

  • So…hrmmm, what is more important to you, the readership, the expression, or pleasing the critics??

    If the first, then tinker with your content and style and see what gets you more readers.
    If the second, then screw the readers and critics and express yourself.
    if the thrist, then make the minority happy, but leave the majority disappointed.

    Personally, why should you change to make other people happy? This is an expression of you! Did people tell Pollock his art needs improvement? You betcha! Did he change? Hell no! (Of course…he was kind of an odd ball…but that is besides the point) The worlds population isn’t shrinking so your readership shant as well!

    We all have, what we believe is “constructive” criticism. Always take it with a grain of salt!

  • Leave a Reply

