Pirate-Kansas and Other Things

Published March 22, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Well, I’m back from “Arr”-kansas. (Lame joke, I know. Especially as I didn’t see a single pirate while I was there.) I had such a good time. I went up there to visit the same friend who was visiting me about a month ago. We went all over the place. Wine bars and seedy bars and outdoor malls and vintage video game stores. I had a blast hanging out with my friend and getting to know his wife. Although…I’m still unsure whether or not she likes me. I’m thinking not, but I still did my best to be polite and friendly. I’m just not good at being friends with girls. Anyway, it was a really good time. I even got to try smoking hookah for the first time, which was so awesome. Now I want one of my own. I think it’d be so fun to sit around on the porch with my friends and smoke hookah during the spring and summer.

When I came back, my spouse surprised me with all of the skylanders games, which were the only things missing from my Spyro collection. I know it’s not technically a Spyro game, but it has Spyro in it, so I still counted it. I’ve played it a little bit and I’m already hooked. I had been holding back on buying it because I had an objection to buying other toys (which is essentially what they are) in order to play a game I had already paid for. But he managed to find almost all of them for me from someone on craigslist, so at least there’s that. I’ve been playing around with Hex, trying to level her up all the way…I think I’m level 8 or 9 already.

Image

He also did a lot of thinking and decided that I’m allowed to use my vaperite in the house, which is nice of him. Running outside every ten or twenty minutes was getting to be a big pain in the ass.

We also picked up a new project to do together this weekend. It’s a wishing well. Or rather, it will be a wishing well. My neighbors said it’s been in their front yard since they moved in. The roof is blown completely off of it, the paint is peeled and gross, and in general, it just looks like a pile of wood and nails right now. So they said we could have it, and we’re going to rebuild/repair and paint it up nice so I can plant flowers in it and set it up next to the mailbox. I’m pretty excited to have another project so soon after getting home, but we won’t be able to start until Sunday, with it being March Madness (ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-madness!) and all. If you didn’t already know, my partner is a bartender at a higher scale bar in Atlanta. So something like March Madness means he’s working doubles for three days and the place is slammed. Poor Pookie.

In other news, I’ll be starting the Paleo Diet sometime next week. And I’m thinking about joining Nerdfitness.com as well. Everyone I’ve mentioned it to has said I shouldn’t do it, but the two people I know who are on it have had remarkable results so far. So I think I’m going to give it a shot. I like the idea that I can eat pretty much anytime I want. I was on the Body For Life diet, and I just couldn’t handle the constant cooking and eating. Six meals a day, are they joking? Uh…no. They really wanted you eating that often. That’s just too much for me. Plus, on Paleo diet I can scarf steak and broccoli pretty much whenever. And who wouldn’t say fuck yeah to that? We’re going to start going to either Harry’s or Whole Foods to get all organic/healthy food from now on, and the idea of eating like a non-vegan hippie actually sounds kind of appealing to me. So I’m excited to start it off. I’m trying to think of it as murder. Rubbing out my inner fat kid. The violence of it just sounds better. Haha.

And I haven’t forgotten about my desire to run in a marathon this year. So I need to get back into the gym and start prepping for that. I’m thinking sometime in the fall would be good weather for it. Fortunately, my gym has a huge bulletin board with lists and invites to different events. So I’ll be keeping an eye on that and letting you guys know what’s up when I finally decide which one I want to do.

I guess that’s it for now. Sorry I didn’t write while I was in pirate-kansas. Things should be getting back to normal now.

One comment on “Pirate-Kansas and Other Things

  • That’s great, have you already run the 10k or the half marathon? I really suck at running, I am adequate walking, but start to get more than one feet of the ground at a time and there, you have me tired in no time.

  • Leave a Reply

