You and I

Published March 10, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

What was the one experience that completely changed your life? What happened? How did it change your life?

Hmm…I just now discovered that the little “inspire me” button is a writing prompt generator. I guess I should have known that, but I don’t really use anything other than the “new post” button. I’ve looked at other wordpress blogs though, and they have different pages with a top navigation bar, making it more of an authentic website rather than just the blog page that I have. Wish I could figure out how to do that. If anybody knows, please let me know.

Anyway, I’m supposed to think of a moment that changed my life. It would probably be when I found out my spouse was interested in me. The guy who performed our wedding was actually the one who told me that he was interested, one night at work while he was rather intoxicated. I’m pretty sure that my partner’s interest was supposed to be a secret, but…oops. It was at that point that I noticed that my now-spouse was following me from stage to stage. If I was on two, he was behind bar two. If I was in the executive room, so was he. Apparently he had been doing this for about a year and I never noticed it. Finding out that this wonderful, smart, kind, funny person actually liked me (drunk, miserable, depressed, and messed up in general) was like a breath of fresh air. For the first time since I was a teenager, I felt like there was a potential for me to be happy. I knew that this person, who could at the very least become a wonderful new friend, could assist me in opening myself up to a more positive lifestyle. And maybe in return I could nudge him a little closer to life on the edge. Adventure. I could get him out of his shell and we could develop a mutually beneficial relationship.

Then I went and fell in love with him. (I still wanna squeal like a teeny-bopper when I think about how much I adore him.)

Being with my partner has changed my life for the better. I’m a happier person now. Much much happier. I strive to do good things, see positivity, and make my mark on the world. I’ve met someone that I want to make proud of me. Someone I’m very proud of. And to me, he is perfect.

Alright…enough gushing. I’ll stop.

Just kidding. Here. Have a happy love song.

One comment on “You and I

  • Aww. It is funny (and heartwarming) when you think about those things. My moment is in a way similar, but without the third party involved telling me that the person had an interest in me. I would have never suspected someone like her would be interested in more than a friendly way in someone like me, but in a shitty night, october 31st 2008, a short group of words telling something like, “you know, I think I am in love with you” blew me, and all I could say was that I cared about her too. It took me more than 2 months to brave up and say, hey, I am in love with you too (after she repeated what she told me in october for the second time).

  • Leave a Reply

