“You Guys Made Me Ink!”

Published February 24, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

I don’t know what to write about today, so I figured I’d post all my ink and explain what they each mean to me. So here we go. Newest First.

This is my Architeuthis Dux. It’s a giant squid, and my favorite animal. I’m terrified of being in the ocean, so of course, a deep sea creature would appeal to that roller coaster feeling I get in the pit of my stomach just thinking about it. This tattoo represents my curiosity, as well as serving as a reminder to always at least attempt to face my fears. I think it’s my favorite tattoo, and I wish I had more opportunities to show it off. This picture was taken on my birthday, which was when I got it. (And yes, those are my kick ass Batman socks.)

Image

This next picture is a before picture. It’s of the back of my neck. I got this tattoo, which is the symbol for Leo, when I was 18. I was high as fuck (I don’t do drugs anymore. Totally sober, a-thank-ya!) and at a friend’s apartment. One of the guys there built a tattoo gun with some india ink, a pen, and a vibrator motor or some shit, and I was all like, “Well…why not?” It took me almost ten years to finally cover it up, because as shitty as it looks, I was proud of it. It was more about the experience than the product, ya know? Anyway, here’s what it looked like before my last birthday.

Image

I got it covered up on the same day I got my squid. And the rainbow bubbles are my little tribute to equality. Here’s what it looks like now.

Image

*pause for four hours to go out and get drunk*

Alright, what’s next? Ah! My crazy crazy arm tattoo! Yeah, if I regret any tattoo it’s this one. I just don’t like how it turned out, really. It’s supposed to stand for eternal life, and it’s an homage to some friends I’ve lost along the way. But I really wish the guy had done a better job adapting it from the original image.

Image

Then there’s these (three) tattoos. I got them all done at once, obviously. These were done with my spouse. A tribute to the idea of finding your other half, as well as Hedwig and the Angry Inch, which is by far the best movie/musical of all freakin’ time. Now I’m not so sure about finding my other half. I don’t think people are divided into just halves of a whole. I think relationships should be in the multiple. But I suppose it still applies. Also, the phrase “Deny Me And Be Doomed”, while it comes from Hedwig as well, is a statement of my mindset when I dance.

Also in this picture is my first ever tattoo. You can see it under my right breast. It’s a two-headed bird. I got this tattoo when I was feeling at my most lonely. (Can I say it that way? Most lonely? Most lonesome? Whatever.) I was at a major crossroads in my life and knew I had to walk it alone. It felt like I was splitting in two.

Oh and yeah my navel is pierced four times. Because fuck yeah.

Image

So that’s it. If anyone ever wanted to design more ink for me, I’d be happy to take suggestions and pictures. All my ink means something to me though, so I think you’d have to know me fairly well to design something I’d really do. But hell, give it a shot. I can assign meaning to pretty much anything. Haha.

Okay, nap time.

One comment on ““You Guys Made Me Ink!”

  • Leave a Reply

