Commence Project Chest!

Published February 21, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

So for the first time since I got the chest home, it hasn’t been raining/freezing, I woke up early enough, and I don’t have company. So I started work today. Here are some photos of my progress so far. Granted, it’s about to start raining, so I don’t have much done, but I got at least one side 2/3 complete, so…that’s something I suppose.

Image

Here’s the back side of it after using the heat gun. You can see on the right side where I test sanded a spot, just to make sure that it wouldn’t mess up the wood. But this was pretty much stage one of three per side. I discovered that whoever painted this thing used only one coat of paint (the thicker/more coats of paint, the more it’ll bubble and peel off) with a primer mixed into it. So because it was so thin, there were a lot of spots that wouldn’t bubble enough to peel off entirely. I got off as much as I could though, and noticed that the back is stamped under the paint. I can’t make out what it says, but I hope that I’ll be able to remove it during stage three. I doubt it, but I do have a small concern that every side is stamped. I really hope not, but if that’s the case, I’ll just work extra hard with the sander to get it off.

Image

This is after step two: sanding. I have to say, this is some of the smoothest, softest wood I’ve ever sanded. I love it. It feels like silk almost. Anyway, as you can see, I managed to get 99% of the excess paint off with the sander. Part three is to hand sand it with a finer grit paper so I can get off the last remaining flecks of paint. But as it is right now, I’m very pleased. And I’ll continue to update with pictures as I go.

I hope to get all the sides done over the course of three days, then devote a day for the lid and legs. That’s hoping the weather holds up, of course. I just went outside to smoke/vape/whatever though, and it’s starting to sprinkle a little bit. So we’ll see.

By the way, I’m sorry I haven’t been updating every day. Sometimes it’s hard to think of things to write about, and I don’t really do much. Like yesterday, I just spent to day running around with my partner, who took the day off to hang out with me. Which was a very nice thing to do. 🙂 The only real interesting thing I did was go to Vaperite again to get a bigger battery. Pink, of course, and with a little twisty knob at the bottom to control the mil…milli…the amps. The beginner battery I got was dying too soon. Hopefully this one will only have to be charged once a day, so I can just put it on the charger when I go to bed.

Gah! I got sidetracked. Anyway, what I meant to say was that if anyone ever wants to give me a writing prompt, please feel free to leave them in the comments. I love prompts, and as always, I read every comment I get.

One comment on “Commence Project Chest!

  • I am once asked going to take full credit for this update, since it came mere hours after I requested one. Also, when I asked for a few pics of your chest…this is EXACTLY what I meant. Sheesh, some people are pervs! 😉

  • Leave a Reply

