Happy Valentine’s Day!

Published February 14, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Valentine’s Day has been alright so far, but before I get into that, I wanted to go over all the stuff that happened yesterday/last night.

First off, a good friend gifted me a trip to the salon to get my hair dyed (black again). I was going to get it styled too, but they wanted to charge too much. The reason for the styling was because I was planning to go out with some friends for a little Pre-V-Day fun.

And it was fun. Well…not at first. First, I drove over to my friend’s new apartment. I had never been there before, and if you don’t already know, I have a severe driving phobia. So I arrived shaking and on the verge of tears. But the panic attack subsided after a few minutes, and I got the cool tour of her new place. I’m so happy for her. Her apartment is in a good area and the style and age of it seems perfect for an artist like her. I can just tell she’s going to have a lot of creative milestones while living there. Maybe I should buy her a typewriter for her birthday or something. Hmm…

Anyway, after the tour (and watching her change a dozen times. Which was hot.) we walked a couple blocks down the street to her favorite bar. There we listened to a couple of her friends play an acoustic set. They played Cranberries and Radiohead and The Smiths…all in all, a nice selection. While we were there, we met up with another one of my best friends and one of his friends, too. It’s always so nice to hang out with them. We had some yummy bar food and a couple drinks, and we were on our way to Drunken Unicorn in Atlanta.

My chick friend had another friend at Drunken Unicorn who was performing with his band. But the band that really blew me away was Alex Vans and the Hide Away. They’re on tour from D.C. and were selling their albums for $10 a pop. My chick friend bought one and promised me a copy, since I had spent enough on shots and wine and food already. My other friends were going on about how Alex looks like Nicholas Cage, and we got to chat with them a bit after the show. They’re really good and full of charisma. Here’s a link if you’re interested in learning more. http://www.alexvansmusic.com/

After all the fun at Drunken Unicorn, it was time for my dude friend and his buddy to head home. So the four of us left, and my chick friend ended up dropping me off at a bar downtown, where I stared at naked women and waited for my spouse to get off of work. From there we drove back to my chick friend’s apartment so I could pick up my car, and we headed home. All in all, a really good night.

Today has been alright too, although I haven’t done near as much. We were planning to hit up the gym today (or so I thought) because we were so tired last night that we skipped it. But instead we had Jimmy John’s for breakfast (at 3PM and because it’s the best sub shop ever) and then my partner made up some random excuse to go to the mall real quick.

We landed in the Build-A-Bear Workshop, where he made me the Harajuku Panda Bear that I’ve been wanting since it came out. Haha. Got it some awesome converse shoes and his own Rock band guitar, too. I named him Valentine, of course, and my spouse put a roaring noisemaker in his paw, so he can cover metal songs. Here’s a cute little picture I just snapped.

Image

Yes, I know the picture is big, but I don’t much feel like resizing it right now. Isn’t he adorable though?

As for the rest of Valentine’s Day, we’ll be celebrating it not this weekend, but next. My partner has to work tonight, so we can’t do anything right now. And I have a friend visiting from out of town this weekend. In fact, he’ll be here tomorrow. Which means I have tons of cleaning to do tonight…assuming I don’t hang out with my other valentine-less friends instead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

