The Blog That Never Was

Published February 12, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

I was about to write a blog called “The Modern Propagation of a Racial Binary Opposition”. But I decided against it. Half way through, I was feeling really uneasy about what I had written so far, and decided to make a phone call and ask some questions. The result was the realization that when it comes to certain things, I am entirely too naive. I had hoped to do my little part in honor of Black History Month, but it was coming out all wrong.

So instead, I’d like to pose a question to my readers. What does Black History Month mean to you? This is an important question to me, but I can’t really explain why. Just understand that when I say I’m naive, it’s not to black or American history, but to other matters. So please feel free to leave your answer in the comments. As always, I will read them all and reply to the ones that I can come up with a semi-intelligent answer to. And I hope no one is offended if I have questions.

4 comments on “The Blog That Never Was

  • It means nothing to me. I dont bother with things of race. It might sound rude or arrogant o me, but race doesn come to my mind when. Think o things.

  • I find it oddly out of place in today’s “Politically Correct” world. Yes, I know the history that black people went through, yes, I understand the magnitude of the events that occurred. I have nothing against it, but logically, it is complete an oddity. In a place where we are all are supposed equal, why should one group have a great focus on their history than another? I do not see a Asian history month, nor do I see a “Denied because of needing a non-white person on the team” Month. Each event to a group of people is painful in its own right, so what gives the right to tout Black history Month above every one else? To add a slight spin to this, we should not repeat the errors of history, but we should not revel in the events of history either. Are we not bringing up, and to some extent, bending back to what had transpired in the past? Should we learn about it, then move on, ready not to repeat the mistake?

    from an economical standpoint, I can understand this, if this brings greater utility to a nation as a whole, then it is in line. How, pry tell, should we measure if the social benefit of Black history Month outweighs the social cost?

  • Not being “American” I can only speak from my limited experience, and like Mr. Morgan Freeman, I find it ridiculous (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeixtYS-P3s), if we start to discriminate based on color, religion, sexual orientation, nationality, etc, there would not be a single place to call a country. But, it is important to really accept each other as equals, (for example it should not be called gay marriage, it should be just marriage, equal marriage is better than gay marriage though). People should be measured on their individual value, and if you are an excellent person, then you should regardless of what you are, and if you are an a**hole, then you are simply that, an a**hole, not a colombian a*sshole, not a white a**hole, not a black a***hole, jut an a**hole.

  • I think this should be the inspiring theme song for black history month:

    also, I recommend reading “Black Sexual Politics” by Patricia Collins, and lots of Cornel West.

    And I think it’s incredibly admirable to admit the feeling of naivety rather than spewing on something one is unclear on, very mature–something a lot of people would do well to understand these days!! But yeah. my comment is to let black voices speak for themselves as much as I can stifle my own ego of knowledge relating to such, being a white girl [even a white girl with a rap addiction and previous living in the ghetto].

  • Leave a Reply

