Nature’s Call

Published January 29, 2013 by Carmen Lamiarum

Lately I have felt a call to do something for society. I’ve been wracking my brain since before Christmas, trying to think of what I can do to impact my community in a positive way and also fulfill the need I have to make that impact longstanding and meaningful. I could read to kids at a library or I could clean kennels at a shelter. I could donate money to charity organizations and good causes. But none of those idea provide me with the level of satisfaction that I am seeking. I feel like when I finally figure out what it is I want to do it will just feel right inside, ya know?

I know I want to do something really big. I wish I could be the one to wield a magic wand and wish Westboro Baptist Church out of existence. Or create equal rights for the LGBT community. Or implement  fair tax legislation. Or start a dalmatian plantation! I have so many desires for my community and my country, but I’m in no place to make them happen. Yeah, I could write a letter to someone higher up on the political ladder. Sure, Sophia Klugh’s letter to Obama was heartfelt and inspiring. And she even got a response, and that’s so awesome. But did it change anything? No, not really. I don’t feel like writing letters and “spreading awareness” is really enough. I want results.

And really, think about it. Someone out there was spreading awareness about (for example) LGBT equality. They were getting the word out in hopes that the right person would hear them and change things for the better. Start an equality revolution. Well, I heard that person. Here I am. Why not me? Why can’t I, instead of being one more person spreading the word and just hoping for a better future, be the one to change it?

But what do I do? How do you start a crusade in modern society?

Maybe I could run for president or something…

5 comments on “Nature’s Call

  • Ide vote for you
    So….I actually have no advice to give as I’m in the same boat, thought to my company. I want to do something great, something big, but how do I do that? What do I do? Etc.
    Though, I am curious, what did start the original push for this?

    • I don’t know where my original comment went. Hmm…

      Well anyway, I think it started with this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZJwSjor4hM

      If this one guy can shut down one of their pages while they’re talking, why can’t I do something? Now, do I really wanna go to jail for hacking the site of a hate group full of lawyers? Not really, no. But even though this guy is part of a group, HE did something to stop them. Even if only for a few hours. Maybe citing hactivists as the root cause of this thought process is destructive and counterproductive, but it’s the only thing I can think of that I “experienced” that could have started this line of thinking. At least, as far as I can recall.

  • I greatly admire how you want to change the world. You’re a lot more optimistic than I am. I mean, sure, I vote, sometimes I write letters to my representatives, and sometimes I even do volunteer work. But sometimes I have a tendency to be cynical – i.e. “No one in Georgia cares that the war on drugs is an utter failure and that our LGBT equality in this state is laughable when compared with other states.” And sometimes I feel bad, like I’m not doing enough. But then I realized that if I’m going to change the world, it’s going to be through art. Maybe someone somewhere was touched by my poem about visiting my brother and jail, and maybe someone somewhere will think “well, doing this to a family and making them drive four hours to visit their brother/son in jail over selling marijuana is wrong.” And maybe that doesn’t change what the lawmakers think, but it’s still something.

    So maybe you just need to figure out what your role is and how you can specifically change the world in ways that no one else could.

  • I think a lot of us would like to do something really big. but, [sadly!] things aren’t as easy as one star individual waving a wand. It takes time, collaboration, and sharing of the glory with those who you work with to eventually make these things happen. Trust me, having this same impulse/goal for 7 years has taught me how painfully slow it can go–not to mention all those who have in past and current times worked for change which is still slow-coming. But, I am more than happy to hear of your recent development of humanitarian impulse! Have you looked into internships or volunteer positions and/or made a plan for your own project? Please keep all updated on this, more people need to get involved in change-making!

    • No, I haven’t started anything yet. I’ve just been kinda mulling it over. So many different things are going on right now in my life that I haven’t had much time for extracurricular things. But I’ll be sure to keep you posted if/when I come up with a game plan.

  • Leave a Reply

